The Salad Bowl Effect of Leadership

How do we develop our leadership?

My current principal, Mike Jasso, enlightened me a few years ago with such simple words that have had such a profound impact on my leadership style. I coined his words of wisdom ‘the salad bowl effect of leadership.’ In essence, as leaders, we do not own a certain leadership style nor has a leader develop his or her leadership without the influence of another. We consciously give permission to those that we admire and respect to influence us and allow their style to have a lasting impact on our leadership. Within the ‘salad bowl effect of leadership’, we absorbed characteristics that we admire and place them in our bowl to consume when needed. I recognize that I cannot and should not be exactly like the leaders and mentors that have paved a way for the next generation of school leaders; I must lead with my own voice and my own heart. However, their individual lessons learned, habitudes, methodologies, values, etc. are the ingredients that I use to prepare my salad bowl of leadership to consume as a future principal.

Salad Bowl Effect of Leadership

3 Comments on “The Salad Bowl Effect of Leadership

  1. Pingback: Dear, Anthony… #SAVMP | A Journey of Leading & Learning

  2. Pingback: savmp | A Journey of Leading & Learning

  3. Pingback: Dear, Anthony… #SAVMP | A Journey of Leading & Learning

Please, share your thoughts...

