Twitter Learning – #TweetGrowth

Twitter is a great resource for professional learning. But similar to anything that I want to learn, if I do not have transfer goals to bring life and meaning to information, I will never truly learn it. My Twitter Growth Challenge: to reflect on this month’s top 5 likes a/o retweets (and tweets) from Twitter! As always, I am excited about the opportunity to not only continue to curate information that is relevant to my learning, but also evoking purposeful reflection of the 140 character microblogs that I believe are the most meaningful.

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.16.24 AM

The tweet: Justin shares a tweet quoted from Rodney Hetherton that emphasize the attributes of a high functioning culture of learning – highlighting transparency, encouragement, and accountability as cornerstones. The reminds me of the best advice that I received from a friend.

My application: This is the reminder that when leading with a servant heart, the rest will fall into place.

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.08.08 AM

The tweet: Aaron shares George Couros’ 8 characteristics of the innovator’s mindset that create the conditions for better ideas.

My application: I love the idea of being a problem-finder and cycling through the process to develop (innovate) a newer perspective/experience. I consistently ask question about how to improve (innovate) processes – which lead to relevant, meaningful ideation.

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.05.59 AM

The tweet: Bill shares the Dan Rockwell quote above – emphasizing the importance of reminding others of their worth.

My application: Our campus designs a culture of gratitude from the top down. With the upcoming weeks and the holiday season, I am extending that culture of thanksgiving to ensure that the people that I lead know that they matter!

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.04.38 AM

The tweet: During a professional learning day, Jeremy highlights a share from one of our teacher-led professional conversations on learner responsibility. The article highlights practical ways to build in and thread learner-driven empowerment in learning. The article can be found here.

My application: The toolkit helps provide ideas to give educators the resources to design more learner voice and choice in the classroom. The more we empower learners in the classroom, the deeper their investment in the learning process.

Screen Shot 2015-11-08 at 11.01.34 AM

The tweet: Deana shared a quote with me from a very insightful conversation (of many) that we had about the negative control of knowing everything.

My application: This quote has become a constant reminder embedded in my decisions. No matter how knowledgeable we become, there is a need for a healthy doubt that counters expertise to ensure that we are as balanced as possible when decision-making.

Please, share your thoughts...

